The anchovy.

04Oct10

hey’re slimy, they’re fishy, and, in my opinion, should be legally omitted from any recipe.  But seeing as how I once made a promise to myself to always try a recipe in its originality at least once, I had no choice but to finally accept these intimidating little things as an actual ingredient.  So with a simple Caesar salad, which I desperately hoped would overpower any sea-like taste, I’d like to introduce to you…the anchovy.

Sure they may look harmless...

I borrowed the recipe for the dressing from allrecipes.com, while improvising the rest of the salad (hey, tossing together lettuce, croutons and cheese is not as easy as it sounds!).

the dressing:

3 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cup mayonnaise
5 anchovy fillets, minced (and let me tell you, I minced the crap out of them due to fear of biting into a nice large chunk)
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce (aka the sauce that nobody can pronounce)
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1 tablespoon lemon juice
salt and (lots of) pepper to taste

the croutons:

Yes I know what you’re thinking, but put down that box of “Restaurant Style Croutons” and give this a chance.  It’s easy, quick, and quite frankly tastes way better than the boxed ones (no offense to the people who actually make them).  I simply took white Ciabbata bread, cut it into little cubes, drizzled some olive oil, sprinkled with some spices, and baked at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes.  (I figured if I convert the recipe into a long run-on sentence instead of a list of ingredients and steps, it might seem like less work).  As for spices? I used garlic powder, pepper, basil, and oregano, but you can use whatever you like.

the rest of the salad:

Romaine lettuce
Parmesan cheese

Here is where it gets fancy: assemble the Romaine and croutons, and toss with desired amount of dressing; garnish with shaved Parmesan cheese.

And here’s what I really mean: put everything in a bowl, even the pieces that fell onto the counter.  Grab a fork and take the whole thing to the couch.  If you see a big piece of anchovy, ignore it and chew really fast.  Also, make a mental note that you need to improve your mincing skills

The Caesar.

As for the anchovies, they really aren’t that bad.  Let’s just call them an acquired taste…



19 Responses to “The anchovy.”

  1. The menu for our upcoming dinner is coming together very nicely :)

  2. I use anchovies to make pasta sauce, that really hides the taste but gives the sauce an amazing flavor, try it you’ll like it, pinky swear!

  3. Good for you for trying them, at least!

    I love a good Caesar salad. To do it the more traditional way, you make the dressing first, in the salad bowl, and start by rubbing cut halves of fresh garlic all over the inside of the bowl–this way you get the garlic flavor without big chunks. The you make the dressing and toss it all together.

    Anchovy paste might make it easier for you, too: it comes in a tube and would blend a bit more with the dressing, decreasing the amount of chunks you’d have to deal with :)

  4. I am not sure if I would be brave enough to try anchovies ;) Sounds like a really good recipe though. I am here from the Panda group.

  5. 8 cirqueduneedham

    Popping in from Sits. Props to you, sister! I would NOT have braved the anchovies, no way… no how.

  6. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I saw great “sippy cups” at TJ MAXX, Books-A-Million, and Kirklands. There is also a specialty boutique downtown that sells stuff like that.

    This ceasar salad looks so good. I would also recommend using paste instead of trying to chop them tiny. I love shrimp, so I will be back often for inspiration.

  7. I understand, I’ve always wanted to try my hand at Caesar dressing, but the anchovies..

    But with that said, I use Dashi all the freakin’ time.

  8. I adore anchovies, but with or without them, that’s one beautiful salad. Good job!

  9. Hey there from the SITS tribe. I’m glad that in the end you were okay with the anchovies. I know I’m in the minority but I do like them on pizza & even in salads, but definitely in small portions over long periods of time!

  10. Well, I’m not really sure about anchovies but I know I love a Caesar salad! That one looks fantastic! I think you may have inspired me to actually try to make my own Caesar dressing. :-)

  11. I’m a lover of Caesar salad, but without anchovies. There’s no way I could have braved them!

    I’m stopping by from SITS, I’m part of your tribe :)

  12. I have to admit, I have not tried to make anything with whole anchovies. I have a tube in my pantry, and I have made caesar salad using the paste. Very good that way! Stopping in from our tribe!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

