The Pineapple and the Crepe.

14Oct10



Let’s call them what they really are – a hassle! 

You spend an hour making one at a time, with approximately 10% of them looking decent, all while cursing yourself for ever embarking on this guaranteed-to-fail adventure. Your only bit of relief stems from the fact that you can finally justify the purchase of that crepe pan you swore you needed but haven’t used in over a year. Why did I do this to myself, you ask? Well that would be due to the only valid reason for ever getting up at 8am on a Sunday morning…visitors!

The recipe is relatively easy, while the technique is definitely not. I must have modified the temperature 684 times (yep, I counted) and with each one the end result was still a surprise. So with that, I offer you my first piece of advice: roll ‘em, fold ‘em, replicate the Eiffel tower, but whatever you do, do not lay them out flat, as that only emphasizes the imperfections of the circle that most likely isn’t (unless yours are perfect. In that case, lay them flat, take a picture, and send it to me to rub it in). My second piece of advise is to add something on top to make compensate for the other 90%. I added a berry topping, not only to make it look prettier, but..well actually yes, just to make it look prettier. OK fine, it tastes good too but really, at that point you are just too tired to care. To make the topping, take a frozen bag of berries, warm them up in a sauce pan and pour them over the crepes (who the heck needs culinary school!?).

And now for the recipe (modified from Alton Brown):

The stuff:
2 large eggs
3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup water
1 cup flour
3 tablespoons melted butter
Butter, for coating the pan
2 tbs sugar (my guests commented that it wasn’t sweet enough so you might want to add some more…oh and by the way, next time they are getting pancake mix!)

What to do:
Combine all of the ingredients (I simply used a whisk) and place the crepe batter in the refrigerator for 1 hour.  Heat a small non-stick pan and coat with butter.  Pour 1 ounce of batter into the center of the pan and swirl to spread evenly (evenly? HA!). Cook for 30 seconds and flip. Cook for another 10 seconds and remove. Told you it sounds easy.
Work in Progress:

Implementing advice #1 and #2:

Having been excruciatingly preoccupied with my crepes, my generous husband volunteered to photograph the few that were done. I didn’t pay any attention to what he was doing, especially since I sent him a wonderful article on food photography the week before. Despite the fact that he pretends not to receive most of my emails, I was sure I had nothing to worry about. And with that, I present to you the inspiration of the title…

I may not be a professional chef…but can somebody please explain to me what the heck a pineapple has to do with a crepe?!

3 Responses to “The Pineapple and the Crepe.”

  1. The pineapple created the very catchy title:) I am never this nice to my visitors:) Oh wait…I don’t have any visitors for breakfast :) But I’d love to be your breakfast visitor any day :)

  2. I think he added the pineapple for interest and colour… as you do ;)

    Recipe sounds yummy though!

  3. 3 Vika

    Vikochka, you know better than anyone the answer to your question: the pineapple is for the DESIGN!!! Oh, well, not really… to my taste… Your crapes look so much more attractive and they are so tempting! I am ready to have a … breakfast… at 9:55 pm…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

