The perfect wife…

29Nov10

Today, I was the perfect wife.  It’s that one day out of the year when you truly want to do something nice for your husband, just to make him happy – his birthday!  A couple of weeks ago I told him I’d bake him a cake (I assure you it had nothing to do with the fact that I’d be consuming excessive amounts of chocolate).   In my quest for becoming the perfect wife, I asked him what kind of cake he’d like.  When he said he wanted tiramisu, I smiled and politely told him that his choice of cake will be chocolate with a raspberry filling and chocolate ganache on top.  I assured him that he is going to like the cake and will be more than happy to show his gratitude by cleaning up the kitchen sty.  (Now if that doesn’t win me the Wife of the Year award, I don’t know what will).  Now let’s get to the good stuff…

the chocolate cake (courtesy of allrecipes):
1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
2 cups sugar
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 cup strong brewed coffee
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup  vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract

Combine flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt.  Add eggs, coffee, buttermilk, oil and vanilla and beat on medium speed for a few minutes.  Pour into 2 9 inch cake pans and bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes (or the whole toothpick inserted comes out clean thing).  Tell me that’s not the easiest recipe ever.

the ganache:
1 cup of heavy cream
9 oz bittersweet chocolate (I used chocolate chips)

Bring the heavy cream to a boil, pour over chocolate, and.mix until melted.  No seriously, that’s it.

the filling:
raspberry preserve (OK that’s sort of cheating but common people, I just baked a cake from scratch!)

the assembly:
Cake –> filling –> cake –> ganache.  I also decorated the cake with some whipped cream and strawberries, but only because I got carried away with all the excitement of baking my first cake  and couldn’t stop myself.  Good thing I don’t own a bedazzler.

Note – sampling is key!  I sampled the batter, the ganache, the batter again, the spoon, the bowl, and anything that ended up spilling on the counter.  What? I just wanted to make sure it tastes good.

2 Responses to “The perfect wife…”

  1. 1 liza

    Hi Vika!
    Happy birthday to Igor and you definitely deserve “the wife of the year award”.
    Here is also very good and simple one (sorry – no chocolate, but you can sprinkle it with chocolate):
    Chewy Coconut Orange Macaroons
    Ingredients (makes about 3 dozen )
    2 eggs
    1 1/3 cup sugar
    2 tsp vanilla extract
    2 TBL grated orange zest
    5 cups sweetened shredded coconut

    Directions…
    Preheat Oven to 350º
    Line baking sheets with parchment paper

    In a bowl, use electric blender to whip the eggs until very light. Gradually beat in sugar, vanilla and orange zest. Continue beating until light and fluffy. Fold in coconut. Drop the batter by heaping tablespoon onto the prepared baking sheets, making mounds and spacing them about 1 ½ inches apart. Bake for 15 minutes. Do NOT remove. Turn OFF the heat and let the cookies dry in the closed oven another 10 minutes. Transfer to racks to cool

  2. That was one tasty cake!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

