Love comes in yellow…

26Jan11

I have a new love in my life.  He is strong.  He is French.  He can really cook.  And he comes in a lovely shade of light yellow.  He is…my new Le Creuset cast iron French oven!


Now, I would like to preface this by saying that light yellow was never my preferred shade but  when I saw it beautifully shimmering on the “discontinued – extra 20% off” table, I just knew that this was the color I had always wanted, but didn’t know existed.  After making the usual neurotic overly excited phone calls to my mom, grandma, and long distance carrier to share the wonderful news of my new acquisition, I realized that at some point, I’m going to have to start cooking.  But it’s so shiny and clean… And for no logical  reason that I can adequately explain, the only appropriate thing I could think of making was chili.  (This is where the French shake their head in shame).  I’m right there with them and all, but the thought of making something in 1 piece of cookware that would last at least a few days was just too appealing to pass up.  Plus I heard it was illegal to eat chili without cornbread and who am I to break the law?  (No, missing jury duty twice in a row does not count).  So as usual, I set out on a quest to find the perfect chili, or at least one that didn’t require me to drive all over seeking out ingredients I couldn’t pronounce.  And without further ado, here is the byproduct of me and my new love:

Modified (yes, this time it’s really modified) from here.  Don’t get scared of the long list of ingredients.  You have most of them and basically just have to dump them all into one pot.

the stuff:
- 2 pounds ground beef chuck
- 1 pound bulk Italian sausage
- 2 (15 ounce) cans chili beans, drained
- 1 (15 ounce) can chili beans in spicy sauce (couldn’t find spicy)
- 2 (28 ounce) cans diced tomatoes with juice
- 1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
- 1 large yellow onion, chopped
- 3 stalks celery, chopped
- 1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
- 1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
- 2 green chile peppers, seeded and chopped
- ½ cup beef stock (I opted out of the bouillon cubes so I guesstimated the amount.  You can adjust based on desired consistency).
- 1/2 cup beer
- 1/4 cup chili powder
- 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
- 1 tablespoon minced garlic
- 1 tablespoon dried oregano
- 2 teaspoons ground cumin
- 2 teaspoons hot pepper sauce
- 1 teaspoon dried basil
- 1 teaspoon salt
- 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
- 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
- 1 teaspoon paprika
- 1 teaspoon white sugar

what to do:

Cook ground beef and sausage until brown in large stock pot.  Drain off grease.

Pour in the beans, diced tomatoes and tomato paste. Add the onion, celery, green and red bell peppers, chile peppers, beef stock, and beer. Season with chili powder, Worcestershire sauce, garlic, oregano, cumin, hot pepper sauce, basil, salt, pepper, cayenne, paprika, and sugar. Stir to blend, then cover and simmer over low heat for at least 2 hours, stirring occasionally.

After 2 hours, taste, and adjust salt, pepper, and chili powder if necessary.

Now, in order to adhere to my New Year’s resolution of getting into shape (insert mocking laugh here), I decided that low-cal, low-fat, and low-carb was the way to go.  So you can imagine how elated I was when I found the perfect recipe: buttery cornbread!  What, you didn’t know that buttery is synonymous with low-fat?!  I know! I couldn’t believe it either!  My friend was a tad skeptical at first as well, but once I explained that the nutritional content of the cornbread is roughly equivalent to that of celery, we were all on the same page.  (Next up: Food and Honesty: How Not to Lose Friends Over Blog Material).

the stuff:
- 2/3 cup butter or margarine, softened
- 1 cup sugar (I used a little less, as usual)
- 3 eggs
- 1 2/3 cups milk
- 2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
- 1 cup cornmeal
- 4 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
- 1 teaspoon salt
- honey (optional)

what to do:

Mix sugar and butter.  Hmmm…I wonder how that tastes?  Mix eggs and milk.  Mix flour, cornmeal, baking powder and salt and add to the buttery mixture “alternately with egg mixture”.  Uhm…I might have just dumped the three mixtures all together but don’t quote me on that.  Add a bit of honey to batter, if so desired.

Bake at 400 degrees for 22-27 minutes in a greased 13×9 pan.

Now…time to go give that French hunk of steel a bath…

8 Responses to “Love comes in yellow…”

  1. This looks good! Damn, I am hungry again!

  2. 2 A.B.

    Is there any leftover? :)

  3. 3 Vika

    This is an excellent example off “l’amour de Troy” where noone gets jealous!

  4. I am so jealous! I want one.

  5. I’ve been eyeballing this bad boy for a long time. Now that I see something wonderful come out of it, I want it even more! I hope I can convince the hubs to get me one for Valentine’s day.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

