I’ll get that next time…

01Apr11

Do you ever go out to eat, and constantly see something on the menu that looks intriguing yet you never order it?  No?  OK, then it’s just me.  The meal is brunch.  The item is huevos rancheros.  The problem is that I associate brunch with either pancakes and waffles or an omelette with potatoes (followed by pancakes and waffles).  I’m not quite sure what it is that fascinates me about those huevos.  Maybe it’s the fact that they are influenced by one of my favorite cuisines.  Maybe it’s the fact that everything other than the egg itself screams dinner.  Regardless of the reason, I came to the sad realization that if I stick to my “next time” plan, I probably won’t be having any huevos rancheros in the near decade or two.  So what to do?  Make them yourself, of course.  While making something you’ve never had might seem like a challenge, there are clear advantages I quickly realized would work in my favor.  I have never seen the dish, so if it looks horribly unappetizing, I can pretend that that’s exactly how it is supposed to look.  And I definitely have no idea how it is supposed to taste, so if it turns out completely uneatable, I can pretend that huevos rancheros are just not favored by my palate.

Huevos Rancheros, courtesy of Emeril Lagasse

the stuff:

- 1 tbsp vegetable oil
- 1 cup chopped white onions
- 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper
- 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
- 1 tsp ground cumin
- 1/2 tsp salt
- 1/4 tsp cayenne
- 1 tbsp minced jalapeno
- 1 tsp minced garlic
- 1 cup chopped tomatoes and their juice
- 1 cup chicken stock
- 3 tbsp chopped cilantro
- 2 tsp vegetable oil
-  4 large corn tortillas
- 1/2 cup warm refried beans*
- 2 tbsp unsalted butter
- 8 large eggs
- 1 1/2 cup pepper jack cheese

what to do:

For the Ranchero Sauce, heat the oil in a pot, add the onions and bell peppers, and cook for about 5 minutes.  Add the cumin, salt, cayenne, jalapeño, garlic, and and the can of tomatoes and cook for about 2 minutes. Add the stock and simmer until thickened, about 15 minutes. Remove from the heat and add the cilantro.

* If you notice, my refried beans look a little weird.  Don’t panic, I decided to make my own version with black beans instead of pinto but feel free to go traditional on that one.

In a skillet, heat 1/2 tsp of vegetable oil, add 1 tortilla and cook until warmed through.  Turn and cook the other side and repeat with the rest.

In a skillet, melt 1 tbsp of butter.  Break 2 eggs and fry until they begin to set.  Sprinkle the eggs with the cheese and cover to finish cooking.

To assemble, spread 2 tbsp of refried beans on tortilla and place 2 eggs on top.  Finish with the Ranchero Sauce and start eating asap!

As a seasoned non-chef, I make my husband try everything I make before I taste it.

Husband (chewing slowly with a look of utter confusion): “Wooooow…uhm..interesting”
Me (bug eyed and panicked): “Interesting? What do you mean interesting?! Good interesting?!  Is it awful?!
Husband (clearly choosing his words carefully) : “No No, just so many flavors… it needs steak!”

So how did it turn out?  Hell if I know, I’ve never had real huevos rancheros.  Success?  Sure, why not!


7 Responses to “I’ll get that next time…”

  1. You know he has a point, steak would totally work here! There’s a breakfast place in Reno (that’s actually pretty great) and the specialty is huevos rancheros…I’m just putting thoughts in your head…

    • See, my concern is once I’ll try real huevos rancheros, I’ll come to the realization that mine were way off :)

  2. Looks good! Although I’ve never had huevos rancheros either, so have no idea what they are supposed to look like:) But…sauce…GOOOD, refried beans….GOOOD, eggs….GOOOD, Tortillas….GOOOD ;)

  3. 5 Nat

    That looks good! Poor husband though :)

  4. 7 Mary

    This looks pretty good to me and I know I’d enjoy a serving. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

