To post or not to post…

28Sep10

Now what kind of shrimpaholic would I be if I didn’t dedicate my first “real” post to my favorite food group?  Of course deciding to cook shrimp was the easy part seeing as how the end results would involve me eating it.  But then I realized that not only did I have to decide on an actual dish, I’d have to figure out a way to convert “just eye-ball it” to real measurements.  Realizing the numerous challenges I may face (slight sarcasm implied) I decided to start out with something simple, not only so that someone could actually replicate it, but so that in the event that I royally screw it up, I have ample time to try again (optimistic aren’t I?).  So without any further babbling, here is my first official dish – le shrimp scampi (sounds cooler that way, doesn’t it?).

the stuff:
– 1lb of shrimp (3-5lbs in my case)
– 3 tbs butter
– 2 chopped shallots
– 3 cloves of chopped garlic
– 1/4 cup of white wine
– 2 tbs lemon juice
– salt and pepper to taste
– 1/4 cup chopped parsley
– cayenne pepper (optional)

what to do:
1) Melt the butter in a skillet and saute the shallot and garlic for a few minutes, until they are soft.
2) Add the shrimp, season with salt and pepper and cook a few minutes on each side, until they are pink and slightly firm.
3) Remove shrimp from skillet as they cook fast and can become tough if overcooked.
4) Add the wine and lemon juice and let it reduce for a couple of minutes.
5) Add the shrimp back to the skillet along with the parsley.
6) Add cayenne if you’d like and taste the sauce to make sure it is adequately seasoned.
7) Tell your husband dinner won’t be ready for an hour, and sneak off with the bowl to another room.

And voila!  You no longer have an excuse to buy those frozen scampi that have a few too many ingredients you can’t pronounce.

3 Responses to “To post or not to post…”

  1. 1 Yaro

    I much prefer prawns, shrimp is for wimps!

  2. It’s 8 o’clock in the morning and that still looks tempting! Some other fab people for you to check out… smitten kitchen, joy the baker, pioneer woman cooks and no recipes! Much luck to you on the blog adventure!

  3. Beautiful and delicious:) I am coming to dinner even if I am not invited:)


Leave a Reply

